Site icon Fashion Glee

What are the Dietary Reference Intake? – Types, Guidelines, and More

Dietary Reference Intake

Dietary Reference Intake: We all have one thing in common: we all eat. What, when, why, and how much we eat varies from person to person. We often choose products based on taste, familiarity, cost, and availability. What we eat is not necessarily what our body needs. A nutrient-deficient diet is a diet that can lead to health and weight problems. Fortunately, guidelines have create to help us decide what foods to eat to provide our body with the nutrients it needs.

Research to determine the proper amount of nutrients for health began in the 1940s when men were not drafted into the army during World War II due to the impact of malnutrition on their health. The first Food and Nutrition Board creates to evaluate large populations’ nutrition. Since then, the Food and Nutrition Council has gone through many changes and has issued comprehensive nutritional guidelines for maintaining good health and preventing disease.

There are Four Types of Dietary Reference Intake Values

Due to the complexity of dietary analysis, DRIs have mainly use by researchers and nutritionists. Programs used for diet analysis are now available to the public. You can trail everything you eat and drink on any of the websites that offer one of these programs, and you will get detailed information about your intake compared to DRI. When tracking your diet, you want to use a website that uses the USDA’s National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference as a source of nutritional information.

You don’t have to follow each nutrient’s recommendations every day of the week. So don’t worry if you skip or miss a nutrient from time to time. But when you’re constantly struggling to stick to your recommendations, it’s best to work with a healthcare professional.

What are the Dietary Guidelines for Americans?

Eating a healthy diet can be as simple as following guidelines like the Dietary Recommendations for Americans. These guidelines have update and published every five years since 1980 by the US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and the Department of Agriculture (USDA). The purpose of these recommendations is to promote health and reduce the risk of serious chronic diseases in people aged two years and older. The Guidelines also discuss ways to maintain a healthy weight.

The Main Recommendations of Dietary Reference Intake are:

Sufficient Food within Caloric Requirements

Weight Control

Physical Activity

Food Groups to Encourage



Dietary assessment of groups or individuals should base on usual (long-term) intake estimates. EAR is an appropriate DRI to use when evaluating groups and individuals. AI is of limited value in assessing nutritional adequacy and cannot estimate the prevalence of malnutrition.

Also Read: What is High Cholesterol? – Description, Symptoms, Factors, and More

Exit mobile version